Roodeberg blends strike Veritas Gold and Double gold

Roodeberg, the legendary South African wine brand that has stood the test of time for over 70 years, struck Double Gold and Gold at the 2021 Veritas Awards, the ‘Oscars’ of the local wine industry.

The Double Gold medallist, Dr Charles Niehaus 2017, is Roodeberg’s top tier signature red. Not to be outdone, Roodeberg’s Classic Red Blend 2020, clinched Veritas Gold in this highly contested wine competition that attracted almost 1 300 entries this year.

Fruit purity and complexity are the crux of the super-premium Roodeberg Dr Charles Niehaus 2017, a formidable Cabernet Sauvignon and Shiraz driven blend. The jewel in the Roodeberg crown, the wine is named after the illustrious founder of this cherished wine brand. The award winning 2017 vintage is a blend of Cabernet Sauvignon (39%), Shiraz (37%), Malbec (10%), Merlot (7) and Cabernet Franc (7%).

The blend is all about selecting the best of the best from the vineyards, the individual bunches and the berries, down to the finest barrels. Our goal is to produce the best super-premium blend that our vineyards can deliver,” says Roodeberg winemaker James Ochse.

Roodeberg’s epic story began in 1949 and evolved over time from the master’s original blend to an accessible contemporary classic still rooted in tradition. As the Veritas gold medal attests, the Roodeberg Classic Red Blend 2020 is still very much part of South African wine history.

This multi-varietal Cabernet Sauvignon-driven blend is a symphony of tastes and textures with aromatic layers of fresh fruit, hints of spice and dark chocolate leading to a mouthful of plums and cedar oak wrapped in silky tannins.

Roodeberg continues to bring people together with its outstanding quality and consistent drinking pleasure with the promise of a story in every bottle. For more information and online purchases visit

Categories: Roodeberg (KWV)Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Sharese Hunt

Love all things wine-related.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *